Five books

I stole this post idea from Woman With No Regrets:

1. What book did you struggle to get through but is something you’re glad you’ve read?  Drawing Down the Moon by Margot Adler.  It took me three tries to get through it, and parts of it weren’t that interesting, but other parts gave me a lot of food for thought and really resonated.  On my first attempt to get though it, I was still working in an office so I’d bring it in every day to read during my lunch break.  One of my friends at the office was reading the Malleus Maleficarum (a 15th century German treatise on witchcraft) at the same time, so he kept threatening to burn me at the stake.

Neither one of us fit in very well in that office.

2.What’s a book whose popularity has baffled you?  Anything by Dan Brown.  I tried to read The DaVinci Code when it was in vogue to do so, but I couldn’t even get through the first paragraph.  The writing was that terrible.  Does no one else recognize the difference between good writing and terrible writing?  How sad.  I watched the movie, eventually, and realized that not only is Dan Brown’s writing terrible, his story ideas are pretty stupid too.  There’s plenty of blood chilling actual history about the Catholic Church; why bother inventing more, especially if what you’re inventing is less interesting than what really happened?  Besides, the whole whatever-happened-to-that-Jesus-guy-anyway question was already addressed much, much better in Another Roadside Attraction by Tom Robbins.

3. If you could make everyone you know read one book, what would it be?  Arctic Dreams by Barry Lopez.  His reverence for land is mesmerizing.  I keep this book on my night stand and re-read passages from it regularly.

4. What book have you liked less and less as time has gone by?  Nothing is coming to mind.  I don’t like Zen and the Art of Motorcycle Maintenance as much as I first did, but I think that’s because I was so obsessed with it when I first read it.  It’s still a great book.

5. What book have you loved more and more as time has gone by?  The Hunger Games trilogy.  I read them about a year ago and liked them well enough, but didn’t think they were anything to write home about.  As I’ve thought about them over the past year, they’ve really grown on me.

Leave a Reply

